Civil Suspensions and Penalties
Civil penalties imposed by the state Department of Licensing include license suspension or revocation and a requirement for SR 22 high-risk insurance. These penalties do not take effect for sixty days, which allows drivers to challenge the findings and drive on a temporary license for the first sixty days following the arrest unless there was a blood test. It very important to call our office or a reputable Washington DUI attorneys office immediately for specific advice about your case. Generally all drivers arrested for a Washington State DUI should request a DOL hearing or call our office before the twenty day deadline for requesting a hearing. Find information on requesting a hearing to the right.
First Offense License Action in 7 Years
Second Offense License Action in 7 Years
|BAC over .08||90 day suspension||2 year license revocation|
|Refusal||1 year license revocation||2 year license revocation (or until 21,whichever greater)|
|Minor BAC over .02||90 day suspension||1 year license revocation (or until 21, whichever greater)|
High Risk Insurance (SR-22):
If the Department of Licensing suspends your license, you will be required to carry SR-22 high-risk insurance for the three years after your license is reinstated. Clients are often worried about how much their rates will go up, and the answer depends on your driving record and which company you pay for insurance. It is important to shop around to find the best rate.
Ignition Interlock Licenses:
If you believe that your license is or will be suspended call our office. Most drivers are now eligible for an Ignition Interlock License (IIL). To qualify for an Ignition Interlock License you must be a resident of Washington State and have: 1) An ignition interlock installed on your car, 2) high risk (SR22) insurance, 3) fill out the IIL application, and 4) pay the IIL application fee.